Anna Liss

1.Anna LissIn this piece I wanted to display the unexpected advantages, and disadvantages, of being caucasian in a foreign country. This shows my first personal impression of the Philippines being German and not able to speak the native language. The work highlights this strong facial expression which shows the fear of having my hair being touched by fascinated strangers because having light colored hair in Asia is so rare.

9 responses to “Anna Liss

  1. mark kucharski

    great technique and very expressive (if not a little scary)

    Like

  2. This work really evokes emotion. I notice the hair, face, negative space and shadowed figure are so well done. Your technique in shading the forehead and neck and the top part of the t-shirt are lovely. My only wish is that the bottom left pinky gets resolved, it still bugs me a bit. Well done!

    Like

  3. Emily Ropicky

    This piece drew me to it because at first I thought that the stitches on her mouth were just painted on but when I looked more closely, I realised they were physically sewn into the canvascanvas.im curious as to how tough it was for her to sew through the canvas and how she blended the skin to make it look so real. All the highlighting looks so perfect as to the bone structure of the person in the picture. I think, without being influenced by the paragraph explanation, that is is about being controlled or being in the hands of another personm the sewn lips are a metaphor of her being unable to scream or say something for help. And the person in the back is the one controlling her. I think the purpose of this was to show and protray the feeling of being controlled in a visual form. I think that the artist could have added more detail to her eyes in some way to make her look more afraid. Other than that, this is an amazing piece of work!

    Like

  4. This is just awesome! Love the expression!!

    Like

  5. very nice 🙂

    Like

  6. This is very nice, great idea! I love the way you portrayed it!

    Like

  7. Ayush avlani

    I thought this was really cool becaus on this picture you can see that someone is getting bullied but there lips are closed because she doesn’t want to tell anyone

    Like

  8. This helps everyone to be aware of the reality of racism, and made me very emotional.

    Like

  9. This piece does a good job of portraying your ideas. Good job!

    Like

Leave a comment